Search This Blog

Monday, November 12, 2007

Naturally, Sophia has Animal Parts on Her Face

This vegetarian thing is hard to do. Naturally, Sophia is not eating meat so she doesn't want it on her face and body. But what is a make-up lover to do? I found out that my favorite lipstick has pearlessence, a product derived from fish scales. Ewwh! Do you know how much lipstick and therefore fish scales women ingest? I would even feel better if it were organic pearlessence because farm-raised fish is so saturated with mercury. Because I know other veggies and near veggies read my blog, I am including this short list. But there are many, many more animal products in cosmetics. So, do your research before you buy.

Common animal ingredients
Alpha hydoxy acids include lots of different acids that are sometimes animal-derived, such as lactic acid
Beeswax, like honey, comes from bees. Also like honey, vegans argue about whether it should count as an animal product, and if it does whether it should matter.
Carmine is a red pigment made from crushed female cochineal insects. Also known as cochineal or carminic acid.
Casein, aka caseinate or sodium caseinate. A milk protein.
Glycerin or glycerol comes from soap manufacture, which usually involves animal fat. Also glycerides, monoglycerides, and diglycerides.
Guanine or pearl essence comes from fish scales.
Lactic acid often comes from animals.
Lanolin comes from sheep's wool.
Lecithin can come from lots of sources, but it often comes from eggs. If it doesn't specify, you don't know it's not animal lecithin.
Stearic acid often comes from fat from pig stomachs, or fat from other animals.

9 comments:

muslimahlocs said...

and don't forget anything with vitamin d in it...

Here's a quote from an excellent book:

"When a fortified food or supplement label says “vitamin D,” or “cholecalciferol,” that means the origin was animal (generally fish, but sometimes from sheep wool, hides, or other animal parts such as cattle brains). Often milk or margarine, which may be thought of as vegetarian products, will contain vitamin D3 of animal origin. We have even found supplements that are labeled “vegetarian,” yet contain vitamin D3; upon further inquiry, the suppliers were surprised to realize that the vitamin D used was of animal origin. Occasionally a soymilk can be found that uses D3 instead of D2 though most have chosen the D2 (plant) form and clearly list D2 on the nutrition panel."

Ref:

Brenda Davis, R.D. Vesanto Melina, M.S., R.D. Becoming Vegan Book Publishing Company PO Box 99 Summertown, TN 38483 l-888-260-8458 www.bookpubco.com ISBN l-57067-103-6 p 133


even some doritos contain pork products. you know as muslims, we can only eat certain "halal" foods and are always on the look-out for that pesky, ever-present pork. it's even in altoids and marshmellows as gelatin. scary!!!

SistaLocd said...

Very Interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Meikmeika said...

We don't realize how many animal by-products are in our cleaning supplies, nail polish, make-up, body washes, facial products, lotions, etc.

Thanks for the list!!!

n'Drea said...

OMG!

Thanks for sharing this. I really need to do more research now. God only knows what I've been putting ON me. And, as Muslimah and Meikmeika rightly pointed out, the byproducts that get IN.

Meikmeika said...

Ruth Winter's Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients is very resourceful.

Sometimes I'm sad to find out one of my favorite products has animal stuff in it...BOO!!!

Lakia said...

Take a look at http://www.hardcandy.com/ they don't use/test on animals and they are a vegan friendly company.

Bygbaby said...

where you is???

cheleski68 said...

uh, the more i know, the less options there are...good to see ya..love your avatar!

Xcentric Pryncess said...

where are you sophia??